Tribute to Mikis Theodorakis

Wed Mar 8th 2017 to Fri Mar 10th 2017 at 20:30
Cyprus, Rialto Andrea Drousioti 19 Platia Iroon, Limassol

Event Details

In this concert, the Cyprus Symphony Orchestra presents the more academic or serious side of Mikis Theodorakis through two of his own works as well as a Suite written by maestro Baltas based on melodies penned by this great Greek composer. The story of Oedipus Rex concerned Theodorakis not once but twice, with his signature on two manuscripts deriving their subject matter and title from Sophocles’ tragedy of the same title. The first work, presented in this concert, was initially written in 1948, with the composer using material from two previous works of his own: the Sextet and the third part of his Symphony in three parts. Ten years later, in 1958, he reviewed the musical text, with the result being that with which we’re familiar with today. It was during that same period (1957-58) that Theodorakis wrote his Concerto for piano no. 1, while maestro Baltas’ Suite wraps up the concert with some of the composer’s well-known melodies.
Μ. THEODORAKIS: Oedipus Tyrannus
Concerto for piano no. 1
Α. BALTAS: “Where shall I find my soul…” – Suite on melodies by M. Theodorakis
Soloist: Elena Mouzalas (piano)
Conductor: Νikos Tsouchlos
Supporters: Rialto Theatre, Limassol Municipality
Ticket prices:
€12, €7 (young people 18-26 yrs, pensioners), €5 (young people 12-18 yrs), €3 (children under 12)

March 8th Rialto Limassol
March 9th Larnaca Municipal Theatre
March 10th Pallas Nicosia


View Larger Map