Musical Journeys

Bi-communal Concert

Sat Sep 17th 2016 at 19:30
Cyprus, Pallas Theatre, Arsinoes and Rigenis, Nicosia, Nicosia

Event Details

Nicolas Costantinou [piano]
Nardem Sonel [piano]
George Georgiou [clarinet]
Nikos Pittas [violin]
Ayse Karaoglan [violin]
Sinem Sadrazam [viola]
Gurhan Nuray [cello]

Béla Bartók: Contrasts
Ernő Dohnányi: Suite en Valse, op. 39, for two pianos
Johannes Brahms: Quintet in F minor, op. 34

Ledra Music Soloists proposes an innovative concert with the participation of Greek and Turkish Cypriots, the repertoire of which is symbolically taken from the musical traditions of Austria and Hungary and the historical coexistence of them as Austrio-Hungarian Empire. The concert aims to show that diversity can be the stimulus for inspiration giving rise to new cultural traditions. The main work of the concert is the grandiose Piano Quintet by Brahms, which is an example par-excellence, while the work of the Hungarian composer Dohnányi pays homage to the Austrian tradition, and of Bartók to the Hungarian

Full-price €15 | Concessions* €10
Children up to 15 years old FREE ENTRANCE
Pallas Theatre box office, every Wednesday, 16:00–19:00 and at the door the night of the concert
* LMS members, pensioners, full-time Students, soldiers

Tel: 22352355 | |

View Larger Map