Piano concerto premiere

Wed Oct 26th 2016 to Thu Oct 27th 2016 at 20:30
Cyprus, Multiple locations, See the text

Event Details

For his Piano concerto no. 1, Cypriot composer and pianist Christodoulos Georgiades notes that it “flows from the heart…not the brain”, so it’s with anticipation that we’re looking forward to the premiere of his second one. The phrase “from the heart” however, could also apply to Bruckner’s Three Pieces for Orchestra which start the programme: three charming, melodious little movements, with their main interest being that the composer for the first time touches upon that field which he was to be his life's work: pure and absolute orchestral music. As for Schubert’s Symphony no. 2 which brings the programme to a close, this was composed between 1814 and 1815, with the opening movement’s initial theme based on Beethoven’s overture to The Creatures of Prometheus and the second movement being Schubert's only set of symphonic variations.
A. BRUCKNER: Three pieces for orchestra, WAB 97 
CHR. GEORGIADES: Concerto for piano no. 2
FR. SCHUBERT: Symphony nο. 2 in B flat major, D. 125
Soloist: Christodoulos Georgiades (piano)
Conductor: Alkis Baltas
Ticket prices:
€12, €7 (young people 18-26 yrs, pensioners), €5 (young people 12-18 yrs), €3 (children under 12)

Limassol: Wednesday 26 October 2016
Rialto Theatre, 20:30
Nicosia: Thursday 27 October 2016
Pallas Theatre, Paphos Gate, 20:30
Ticket presales:
Rialto Theatre (Andrea Drousioti 19, Limassol 3040, Tel.: 77777745)

  • Online at www.rialto.com.cy
  • At the theatre Box Office 4 weeks prior the concert day (Mo-Fr 10:00-13:00 and 17:00-19:00, Sa 10:00-13:00) and on the concert day from 19:00-20:30
Pallas Theatre (Regenis and Arsinoes corner, Nicosia 1010, Tel. 22 410181)
  • Online at the CySO Foundation website: www.cyso.org.cy
  • At the Theatre box office every Wednesday, 16:00-19:00 and on the concert day, 18:30-20:30
Information: 22 463144, www.cyso.org.cy

View Larger Map